Ellie Light and the White House Via Riehl World View: Ellie Light UPDATE

by the Left Coast Rebel

Graphic h/t Another Black Conservative

After I spoke extensively with Dan Riehl and Pat from Patterico's Pontifications, several details have broken. Dan Riehl did some heavy lifting and thanks to the tips I provided him via the Winston44 character that left a comment here and claimed to be 'Ellie Light' he broke this:

If information I've been given is correct, there is circumstantial evidence linking now infamous letter writer Ellie Light to an international public relations firm involved with the White House in helping to promote health care reform.

Left Coast Rebel made me aware of a comment left on his blog by someone claiming to be Ellie Light. The comment was left by someone using the screen name Winston44. In searching out that name, I found a Twitter account under it that has barely been used.

The account has never tweeted and follows 18 individuals, with 9 following it. Given that we usually add people we know when we first open a Twitter account, I looked to see who the first individual was that Winston44 added. That would be Adam Segal.

Adam J. Segal, President, The 2050 Group, LLC + Named to PR Week's 40 Under 40 for 2009.

His firm is The 2050 Group. It seems to be offline right now, though it was up last night and may be having tech issues. He maintained a personal blog on blogger here - ethnicmarketing. He seemed thrilled when Obama ran a spot in Spanish on Univision, not sure if he was involved with that.

What he is, or was involved with is the National Alliance for Hispanic Health Care. And this press release puts them in the White House, Google shows them to be supportive of Obama, particularly his health care reform agenda - and the release also establishes Segal as the media contact.

........This scenario, while unable to be proved beyond a reasonable doubt, may remind some of the Ethan Winner affair, in which another PR firm linked to David Axelrod looked to be linked to a smear campaign against Sarah Palin during the last presidential campaign.
For anyone interested as well, check the previous post here at LCR, a commenter claiming to be Ellie Light left a comment this morning.Obviously the big thing for Dan, Pat and I was to nail down the IP address of this 'Winston44' character that came to LCR, something that we were not able to do. What we found, as explained above by Dan Riehl, is circumstantial.

Now get this folks, the 'winston44' person that Dan and I were digging info up seemed eerily similiar to Samantha Powers, Cass Sunstein's wife. Totally circumstantial and probably unprovable.

Regardless, I still kept coming back to a hunch that this individual that contacted me was related to/was/was part of something involved with Samantha Power. I saw the recurring theme of interest in Darfur (recall that won a prize for her piece on Darfer in the NY Mag.), health care and others. Dan's confirmation of the group that may have instigated my contact here at LCR, along with perhaps being behind the entire 'Ellie Light' writing campaign certainly fit into the issues she would be interested in as well. It is most likely a case of shared political purpose.

Dan is hot on the trail of this thing and I am going to see how I can help/ what I can offer up as well. If this thing pans out and hard evidence is found implicating people high(er) up the food chain then I am proud that I was a part of this thing. Regardless, this story points to the malfeasance in our midst and the fact that the sanctity of our political process is being savaged daily.


  1. One of the blogs (freepers?) came up with another new one: http://www.google.com/search?q=%22working+for+the+country%27s+biggest+polluters%22&hl=en&safe=off&rlz=1B3GGGL_enUS318US318&filter=0
    And I may have a possible source for another https://secure.nrdconline.org/site/Advocacy?cmd=display&page=UserAction&id=1651

  2. The Samantha Powers connection was also made in the Cleveland Plain Dealer. It's starting to look a lot like there is some substance to the rumor.

  3. I don't know if this is legit or not, but I googled and found a domain name ellielight.info that leads to a blog called The Incredible Lightness of Ellie. It talks about something called "concern trolling" and the writing sort of sounds a little like the letters that were published. Who knows? This is one weird story! LOL


Commenting here is a privilege, not a right. Comments that contain cursing or insults and those failing to add to the discussion will be summarily deleted.